Professional Bio

Ericka Clay is a former atheist and current author of gritty, contemporary Christian fiction. She’s just released her novel, A Violent Hope, and is in the process of writing her next one, You Once Were Darkness.

Ericka has been awarded a number of times by Writers Digest for various short fiction pieces, she has written four novels (one of which placed as a quarter-finalist in the 2010 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest) and has had the privilege of sharing her craft, teaching writing classes and holding writers workshops in the South Texas area. She released her novel, A Violent Hope, through her literary imprint, Believable Books, on October 6, 2020.

In addition to being skilled in creative writing, Ericka is also well-versed in online marketing and business writing. She worked for two online marketing companies in Texas and worked in senior management for a contractor for the Department of Education.

Ericka lives in Northwest Arkansas with her husband, daughter, two dogs and an insatiable need to push buttons, both figuratively and literally.

To see where else Ericka’s been published, please see below.


For a list of Ericka’s Believable Books novels, please see this page.

Ericka’s previously published novels:

Dear Hearts

Book Reviews

Southern Gal Loves to Read

Author Kaelin Scott

Seeking Grace and Gratitude

Book Reviews from an Avid Reader

Books & Bibles

My Book Review Blog

Woven by Words


Changing the Face of Christian Fiction

Cheryl Holloway Presents…Ericka Clay

Interview on Brummet’s Conscious Blog

Interview with Author Shelley Wilson

Guest Posts

Joy Comes in the Morning: My Testimony

Individual Pieces

Ruminate Magazine (Blog)

“Finding Road, Not Water”

Heart of Flesh Literary Magazine:

“You’ve Come Undone”

“Like a Green Olive Tree”

“Hearts Carved from Rock”

Rock and Sling

“Just as the Gazelle is Eaten”

9th Annual Writer’s Digest Short Short Story Competition

“Hands” (4th place winner)

11th Annual Writer’s Digest Short Short Story Competition

“Crazy” (15th place winner)

Texas Laughing Gull Writing Contest

“Hands” (Honorable mention)

Poesia (January 2007)

“War on CNN”

“When You Leave

Poesia (October 2005)

“I’ll Always Be Here”